Head to head

M.A.Di Single vs The Cove

Neither unit carries a decisive certification edge, so the real question is value: the M.A.Di Single lands far cheaper delivered, and the The Cove has to earn its premium on build, size or design.

M.A.Di folding A-frame prefab home exterior
M.A.Di Home

M.A.Di Single

Concept

A folding CLT A-frame that erects in about six hours — a distinct engineering approach with documented earthquake resistance. Striking, but the North American purchase path is the weak link and pricing dates from 2017–2019 press.

Estimated delivered Projected / Unconfirmed
$60,000 – $120,000
Full M.A.Di Single review →
No photo yet
SEED Homes USA

The Cove

Preorder

The Cove is SEED Homes USA's two-bedroom, two-bathroom model at 1,072 sq ft — offering genuine privacy with two full bathrooms and a walk-in closet, starting at $215,775. The 40 ft integrated utility corridor keeps systems organized and supports on-grid or off-grid configurations. At this price and size, the Cove competes with entry-level site-built additions and modular homes, but without US residential certification (HUD or IRC-modular), buyers must secure local permitting approval independently. Fold mechanism type is not specified by the manufacturer for this model.

Estimated delivered Projected / Unconfirmed
$250,000 – $340,000
Full The Cove review →
The verdict

Which one wins

M.A.Di Single is the lower delivered cost ($60,000 – $120,000 versus $250,000 – $340,000 — roughly $205,000 apart at the midpoint). Remember both figures are estimates that already fold in freight, site work and hookups, not base prices. The Cove gives you more deployed floor area at 1072 sq ft — well over the M.A.Di Single's 291 sq ft. Neither unit has a verified residential certification, so both are portable buildings on paper — fine for jobsite, studio or hospitality use, a permitting problem for a primary residence. Some specifications on this page are projected rather than confirmed by the manufacturer — check the badges before relying on a number.

Full spec comparison

SpecificationM.A.Di SingleThe Cove
MakerM.A.Di HomeSEED Homes USA
CategoryFoldableFoldable
StatusConceptPreorder
Base priceProjected / Unconfirmed$33,000$215,775
Estimated delivered costProjected / Unconfirmed$60,000 – $120,000$250,000 – $340,000
Deployed areaProjected / Unconfirmed291 sq ft1072 sq ft
Bedrooms12
Bathrooms12
Folded dimensionsProjected / UnconfirmedShips flat-packedFolds to a compact highway-legal transport package for shipping (exact folded dimensions not published; fold mechanism type not specified by manufacturer for this model)
Deployed dimensionsProjected / UnconfirmedAbout 27 m² (~291 sq ft) single module; Double and Triple configs scale larger40 ft L × 26 ft W × 10 ft H; 9 ft low eave height; 1,072 sq ft; includes walk-in closet; full-length 40 ft integrated utility corridor
Setup timeProjected / UnconfirmedRoof pitches up into an A-frame with a crane and three people in about six hoursOn-site fold-and-deploy; exact setup time not published by manufacturer. Contact SEED Homes for a site-specific estimate.
FoundationPrepared base or piersFlexible foundation options per manufacturer; full-length 40 ft integrated utility corridor simplifies system hookup. Larger 40 × 26 ft footprint requires thorough site planning and foundation engineering. Verify local zoning setbacks before ordering.
CertificationsNo certification verifiedNo certification verified
Regions servedEuropean Union; North America (availability unconfirmed)United States — ships from Medford, OR distributor. Contact SEED Homes USA for delivery coverage and cost confirmation.
Lead timeProjected / UnconfirmedAbout 30–40 days from order in EuropeApproximately 10–14 weeks from order confirmation (per manufacturer and Accio supplier directory)
FinancingNot published for North America.No published financing product. No US HUD or IRC-modular certification, so conventional manufactured-home lending does not apply. Personal loans or construction loans most accessible.
WarrantyNot published20-year exterior finish warranty (manufacturer-stated). Individual system warranties vary by component manufacturer.
Best forADU / backyard home, Hospitality & short stay, Disaster relief, Primary residencePrimary residence

Who should buy the M.A.Di Single

Consider the M.A.Di Single only if its format genuinely fits your project and you can wait — it is concept, so confirm price, specs and timing in writing before committing money the The Cove would let you spend today.

  • • Genuinely different engineering — a folding CLT A-frame, not a container or box
  • • Documented anti-seismic performance
  • • Credible ~6-hour crane erection

Who should buy the The Cove

Consider the The Cove only if its format genuinely fits your project and you can wait — it is preorder, so confirm price, specs and timing in writing before committing money the M.A.Di Single would let you spend today.

  • • Two full bathrooms and a walk-in closet set the Cove apart from smaller SEED Homes models — genuine comfort and privacy at 1,072 sq ft
  • • Full-length 40 ft integrated utility corridor simplifies both on-grid and off-grid system installation and long-term maintenance
  • • Same 20-year exterior finish warranty, CSA A277-certified manufacturing, and durable industrial steel construction as the rest of the SEED Homes lineup
Independent enquiry

Get delivered pricing for both

Tell us what you're planning. We'll come back with real delivered-cost context and route you to the right manufacturer or regional distributor. No cart, no deposits — we're an independent catalog.

Attached to your request: madi-single, seed-homes-cove

We never sell your details. We are not a dealer and take no deposits.

Questions people ask about this comparison

How much does a Boxabl actually cost delivered?
The Casita's base price is around $60,000. A realistic delivered-and-installed figure in the US is $95,000 to $140,000 once you add freight, crane, site work, an engineered pad, utility connections and permits. On raw land with no services, the top of that range is the honest planning number. Anyone quoting you a turnkey Casita at the base price is leaving something out.
What is the cheapest foldable home you can actually buy?
Expandable container buildings sell in the US from roughly $20,000 on marketplaces, and brand-name US sellers like Chery Industrial now start closer to $30,000, sometimes available from stock. They are legitimate portable buildings — excellent jobsite offices, studios and farm structures. They are not certified dwellings in most counties, so if your plan is to live in one full-time on a permitted lot, the real cheapest option is a certified unit at two to three times that price.
Are the expandable container homes on Amazon any good?
As portable buildings, some are perfectly fine — a galvanized-steel frame with foam-panel walls that unfolds into 380–800 sq ft for a low price, useful as an office, studio, guest room or short-stay unit. As dwellings, they are a problem: none of the Amazon-sold units in our catalog (Feekercn, EROMMY) carries a verified residential certification, so most jurisdictions will not permit them as a residence, and warranty and support are retail-grade. Buy one for what it is, plan for import logistics and an electrician, and do not mistake a low sticker price for a low-cost home.
Can I put a foldable home on raw land?
Physically yes, but the site work is where the budget goes. Raw land with no services means you pay for access, clearing and grading, a foundation, and — the big one — utilities, where a septic system alone can exceed $20,000. On the cheapest units the site work frequently costs more than the building. Plan on roughly base price × 2.2 for an unserviced site, and confirm your parcel is zoned for a dwelling and can pass a septic/perc test before you buy either the land or the unit.
What is the Boxabl Baby Box?
A small towable Boxabl launched around $19,999, with a wet bath and kitchenette in roughly 120 sq ft, aimed at offices, studios and guest rooms rather than full dwellings. It is SUV-towable and off-grid capable, but it is RV-classed rather than a permitted dwelling, and several specs — folded dimensions, certification and warranty — remain unconfirmed by Boxabl. Treat it as a preorder with projected numbers, not a shipping product you can pin down today.
Are foldable homes legal in California?
Yes, if the unit carries the right certification. California permits factory-built housing with a state modular (HCD) insignia or a HUD label on a compliant foundation, and state ADU law is unusually friendly to accessory units. What California does not permit is an uncertified imported container building used as a dwelling. The certification label, not the folding mechanism, decides the answer.

Other comparisons