Head to head

Expandable Deluxe Max vs The Cove

You can order the Expandable Deluxe Max today; the The Cove is preorder, so this is really a choice between a unit in hand and one you are waiting on.

No photo yet
PackPrefab

Expandable Deluxe Max

Shipping

The flagship of PackPrefab's original expandable line, the Deluxe Max deploys to 430 sq ft with two bedrooms and a full bath. Now priced at $38,900 — up from a prior $29,500 listing — it sits between the Flip Lite ($44,600) and the newer Flip Classic B ($48,500) in the PackPrefab lineup. Documented US deployments in Hawaii and New York confirm active shipping. Rated to 156 mph wind, seismic Category E/F, and 1-hour fire resistance; no certification seal for permitting.

Estimated delivered Projected / Unconfirmed
$45,000 – $75,000
Full Expandable Deluxe Max review →
No photo yet
SEED Homes USA

The Cove

Preorder

The Cove is SEED Homes USA's two-bedroom, two-bathroom model at 1,072 sq ft — offering genuine privacy with two full bathrooms and a walk-in closet, starting at $215,775. The 40 ft integrated utility corridor keeps systems organized and supports on-grid or off-grid configurations. At this price and size, the Cove competes with entry-level site-built additions and modular homes, but without US residential certification (HUD or IRC-modular), buyers must secure local permitting approval independently. Fold mechanism type is not specified by the manufacturer for this model.

Estimated delivered Projected / Unconfirmed
$250,000 – $340,000
Full The Cove review →
The verdict

Which one wins

Expandable Deluxe Max is the lower delivered cost ($45,000 – $75,000 versus $250,000 – $340,000 — roughly $235,000 apart at the midpoint). Remember both figures are estimates that already fold in freight, site work and hookups, not base prices. The Cove gives you more deployed floor area at 1072 sq ft — well over the Expandable Deluxe Max's 430 sq ft. Neither unit has a verified residential certification, so both are portable buildings on paper — fine for jobsite, studio or hospitality use, a permitting problem for a primary residence. Expandable Deluxe Max is shipping now; The Cove is preorder, so its numbers carry more uncertainty and its delivery timing is less committed. Some specifications on this page are projected rather than confirmed by the manufacturer — check the badges before relying on a number.

Full spec comparison

SpecificationExpandable Deluxe MaxThe Cove
MakerPackPrefabSEED Homes USA
CategoryFoldableFoldable
StatusShippingPreorder
Base priceProjected / Unconfirmed$38,900$215,775
Estimated delivered costProjected / Unconfirmed$45,000 – $75,000$250,000 – $340,000
Deployed areaProjected / Unconfirmed430 sq ft1072 sq ft
Bedrooms22
Bathrooms12
Folded dimensionsProjected / Unconfirmed19 ft 7 in L × 7 ft 7 in W × 8 ft 4 in HFolds to a compact highway-legal transport package for shipping (exact folded dimensions not published; fold mechanism type not specified by manufacturer for this model)
Deployed dimensionsProjected / Unconfirmed19 ft 7 in L × 21 ft 11 in W × 8 ft 4 in H (430 sq ft)40 ft L × 26 ft W × 10 ft H; 9 ft low eave height; 1,072 sq ft; includes walk-in closet; full-length 40 ft integrated utility corridor
Setup timeProjected / Unconfirmed4 people in approximately 8 hoursOn-site fold-and-deploy; exact setup time not published by manufacturer. Contact SEED Homes for a site-specific estimate.
FoundationLevel concrete pad, concrete blocks, screw piles, or other code-compliant system. Forklift, telehandler, or crane required for off-loading and placement. Arrives with electrical and plumbing pre-installed; local utility hookup and NEC-compliant wiring completion required on site.Flexible foundation options per manufacturer; full-length 40 ft integrated utility corridor simplifies system hookup. Larger 40 × 26 ft footprint requires thorough site planning and foundation engineering. Verify local zoning setbacks before ordering.
CertificationsNo certification verifiedNo certification verified
Regions servedUnited States (showroom in Houston TX; confirmed deployments in Hilo HI, New York NY, and Ireland — case studies on packprefab.com)United States — ships from Medford, OR distributor. Contact SEED Homes USA for delivery coverage and cost confirmation.
Lead timeProjected / UnconfirmedNot published; pre-order available when out of stock with 1–3 month processing time per PackPrefab shipping policyApproximately 10–14 weeks from order confirmation (per manufacturer and Accio supplier directory)
FinancingDirect retail purchase at $38,900 USD via packprefab.com (Shopify checkout). PayPal, credit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay accepted. No published mortgage or installment plan.No published financing product. No US HUD or IRC-modular certification, so conventional manufactured-home lending does not apply. Personal loans or construction loans most accessible.
WarrantyNot published; confirm at purchase20-year exterior finish warranty (manufacturer-stated). Individual system warranties vary by component manufacturer.
Best forADU / backyard home, Hospitality & short stay, Rental investment, Primary residencePrimary residence

Who should buy the Expandable Deluxe Max

Buy the Expandable Deluxe Max if you are a hospitality or short-stay operator where nightly rate, guest appeal and speed to revenue matter more than residential certification.

  • • Transparent, published pricing at $38,900 — rare in this segment; forklift-delivered and sold via straightforward US retail checkout
  • • 430 sq ft deployed with a 2BR/1BA layout; two units fit in a single 40HQ container for buyers ordering pairs
  • • Concrete structural ratings: 156 mph wind load, seismic Category E/F, 1-hour fire resistance, 45 dB sound insulation, 50-year service life (manufacturer-stated)

Who should buy the The Cove

Consider the The Cove only if its format genuinely fits your project and you can wait — it is preorder, so confirm price, specs and timing in writing before committing money the Expandable Deluxe Max would let you spend today.

  • • Two full bathrooms and a walk-in closet set the Cove apart from smaller SEED Homes models — genuine comfort and privacy at 1,072 sq ft
  • • Full-length 40 ft integrated utility corridor simplifies both on-grid and off-grid system installation and long-term maintenance
  • • Same 20-year exterior finish warranty, CSA A277-certified manufacturing, and durable industrial steel construction as the rest of the SEED Homes lineup
Independent enquiry

Get delivered pricing for both

Tell us what you're planning. We'll come back with real delivered-cost context and route you to the right manufacturer or regional distributor. No cart, no deposits — we're an independent catalog.

Attached to your request: packprefab-deluxe-max, seed-homes-cove

We never sell your details. We are not a dealer and take no deposits.

Questions people ask about this comparison

How much does a Boxabl actually cost delivered?
The Casita's base price is around $60,000. A realistic delivered-and-installed figure in the US is $95,000 to $140,000 once you add freight, crane, site work, an engineered pad, utility connections and permits. On raw land with no services, the top of that range is the honest planning number. Anyone quoting you a turnkey Casita at the base price is leaving something out.
What is the cheapest foldable home you can actually buy?
Expandable container buildings sell in the US from roughly $20,000 on marketplaces, and brand-name US sellers like Chery Industrial now start closer to $30,000, sometimes available from stock. They are legitimate portable buildings — excellent jobsite offices, studios and farm structures. They are not certified dwellings in most counties, so if your plan is to live in one full-time on a permitted lot, the real cheapest option is a certified unit at two to three times that price.
Are the expandable container homes on Amazon any good?
As portable buildings, some are perfectly fine — a galvanized-steel frame with foam-panel walls that unfolds into 380–800 sq ft for a low price, useful as an office, studio, guest room or short-stay unit. As dwellings, they are a problem: none of the Amazon-sold units in our catalog (Feekercn, EROMMY) carries a verified residential certification, so most jurisdictions will not permit them as a residence, and warranty and support are retail-grade. Buy one for what it is, plan for import logistics and an electrician, and do not mistake a low sticker price for a low-cost home.
Can I put a foldable home on raw land?
Physically yes, but the site work is where the budget goes. Raw land with no services means you pay for access, clearing and grading, a foundation, and — the big one — utilities, where a septic system alone can exceed $20,000. On the cheapest units the site work frequently costs more than the building. Plan on roughly base price × 2.2 for an unserviced site, and confirm your parcel is zoned for a dwelling and can pass a septic/perc test before you buy either the land or the unit.
What is the Boxabl Baby Box?
A small towable Boxabl launched around $19,999, with a wet bath and kitchenette in roughly 120 sq ft, aimed at offices, studios and guest rooms rather than full dwellings. It is SUV-towable and off-grid capable, but it is RV-classed rather than a permitted dwelling, and several specs — folded dimensions, certification and warranty — remain unconfirmed by Boxabl. Treat it as a preorder with projected numbers, not a shipping product you can pin down today.
Are foldable homes legal in California?
Yes, if the unit carries the right certification. California permits factory-built housing with a state modular (HCD) insignia or a HUD label on a compliant foundation, and state ADU law is unusually friendly to accessory units. What California does not permit is an uncertified imported container building used as a dwelling. The certification label, not the folding mechanism, decides the answer.

Other comparisons